Board of Directors

Board of directors

There are presently eight board members including the chairman.

There are no family relationships among the board members or between board members and management.


Ann-Christin Andersen

Andersen, Chair of the Board, is an executive with more than 30 years’ experience from the oil and gas industry.  She has been chief digital officer, managing director, and held SVP/Vice President roles for projects and products. She has served as chair and non-executive director of several boards for many years, and holds board positions in Quantafuel, Maersk Drilling, Rotork and Glitre Energi.

Andersen is also a strategic advisor in her new start-up 4ADA AS. She has a first class Bachelor’s degree in Offshore Electrical Engineering from Heriot Watt University, UK and an Executive MBA with Honours from IMD University in Lausanne, Switzerland.


Oscar Spieler 

Spieler, Deputy Chair of the Board, was previously CEO of Golar LNG, and has experience as CEO of Sea Production and Frontline Management. Spieler has board experience from Jasper Investments, Archer and North Atlantic Drilling.

Spieler has an M.Sc. in Engineering from the Norwegian University of Science & Technology.

Dr. Maximilian Walter

Dr. Maximilian Walter

Dr. Walter is SVP of BASF’s Global Technology Petrochemicals department. He has extensive experience in operations of petrochemical plants. In his operational career he has focused on enhancing the performance of plants and processes such as steam crackers and synthesis gas.

Dr. Walter has been with BASF since 1990 serving in various functions involving materials, processes, plant and operational development and management. He holds a graduate degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany and a Ph.D. in Applied Mechanics of Materials from the Technical University of Aachen, Germany. He is a German citizen living in Neustadt, Germany.

Quantafuel Margrethe Smith

Margrethe Smith

An executive with more than 20 years’ experience from renewables and infrastructure. She is currently CFO in Glitre Energi where she has been employed since 2002.

As CFO, she has corporate responsibility for finance, strategy, technology and innovation. Prior to this, she worked as a management consultant at Ernst & Young and business controller at Assuranceforeningen SKULD. She has extensive board experience from Viken Fiber, TrønderEnergi and Drammen Municipal Pension Fund. She holds a master’s degree in finance from BI Norwegian Business School. 

Dr. Thorleif Enger

Dr. Thorleif Enger

Dr. Enger is a former CEO of Yara International, and was also the EVP of Hydro Oil & Gas before taking over responsibility for Hydro Agri, which was divested to create Yara in 2004.

Dr. Enger has been president of the International Fertilizer Industry Association, as well as chairman or non-executive director of several boards, including Telenor, Spring Energy, HitecVision, FMC Technologies and Marine Harvest, among others. Dr. Enger was educated at the University of Colorado where he earned his Ph.D. in Structural Engineering.


Wenche Teigland

Teigland is an industrial advisor and executive with more than 30 years’ experience from the energy industry, including oil, gas, renewables and infrastructure. From 2006 to 2020, she held executive management positions in the BKK Group. Prior to this she worked for Shell Gasnor, ABB/Aibel, Aker and Kværner.

She holds an executive master’s degree in Technical Management from the NTNU/NHH/Stanford University from 2019 and an M.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from SDSM&T, USA from 1989.

Mr. Kasper Trebbien

Kasper Trebbien

Trebbien is Senior Director, Head of Renewables Investments, in KIRKBI A/S. Before joining KIRKBI A/S in 2015, he held senior corporate finance positions within renewables and infrastructure in DONG (now Ørsted) and EY. Through his position in KIRKBI A/S, Trebbien is a member of the Board of Directors in Adapture Renewables, Inc. (formerly Enerparc Inc).

Trebbien is a Danish citizen, and he holds a Master of Science in Economics from the University of Copenhagen.

Berit Koppervik

Berit Koppervik

Berit Koppervik is elected as employee representative into the board of directors. She works as Lead Planner in Quantafuel’s Project Services Department and has been at Quantafuel since February 2020. 

She has worked 20 years in Aibel, as well as five years in Kværner Engineering. She has held several planning manager positions both in the planning basis department and in large EPC-projects.  She holds a M.Sc. in engineering from the Norwegian University of Science & Technology in Trondheim, Norway.

Read our financial and regulatory news:

Financial and regulatory news

Quantafuel ASA (QFUEL) is a Norwegian technology-based energy company converting under-utilised hydrocarbon resources into high-quality chemically-recycled products.

Read more